Travel log: Banff

I consider myself lucky because my day job (what? you think McFuzzball would permit me to become a full-time starving author, thereby cutting into her supply of caviar cat food? I’d laugh if it wasn’t so sad my cat controls my destiny this way) gives me many opportunities for travel.

Recently, I’ve been to the townsite of Banff in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. In particular, I’ve been at the Banff Centre, an arts/conference facility, including accommodations, just above the townsite. It’s a beautiful place that provides a great, isolated working environment if you’re here for things like team building or to work on your writing, painting, music, etc… Though, while I’m reasonably safe from being mauled by McFuzzball while here (I have to constantly check over my shoulder to make sure she didn’t smuggle herself out here with me), grizzly bears do inhabit the valley, so you have to keep your head up (though they probably have a better temperament than my cat).

Plus, there’s always the novelty of going down to the Banff Grizzly House in the townsite for a rattlesnake, alligator, elk, caribou, or kangaroo fondue (yes, that’s right. watch out Skippy). The food is good, albeit pretty pricey (some of the more “mundane” foods like chicken or beef could easily be considered overpriced). I far prefer Giorgio’s Trattoria and I’m very picky when it comes to Italian food.

Some pics of the campus:

Image

ImageImage

 

Update: It’s snowing.

 

One thought on “Travel log: Banff

Leave a Reply

